Best Tradify Alternative for Invoicing and Quoting: What Each Option Does for a Small UK Trade Team (2026)

Which Tradify alternative suits your quotes and invoices? ServiceM8, Powered Now, Fergus, Joblogic and Checker compared on options, deposits, staged invoices and chasers, from each vendor’s own pages.

Updated 19 October 2026

TLDR: For a small UK trade team, the best Tradify alternative for quoting and invoicing depends on the job you send most. ServiceM8 lists several quote options on every plan, Powered Now, Joblogic and Checker take a deposit at acceptance, and Fergus bills in stages. Tradify still leads where one plan covers options, progress invoices and reminders.

A quote and an invoice are two moments: the customer says yes, and the customer pays. Each app handles those moments differently, and the plan you buy decides which features you get.

Every feature below comes from each vendor’s own quoting, invoicing and pricing pages, read on 19 October 2026. Prices change, so check the live page.

Which Tradify alternative fits which quoting and invoicing job?

Match the app to the moment that costs you most. Each option below is described by its own pages.

  • You quote one job at two or three prices. ServiceM8 lists quote options on every plan, Fergus shows multiple pricing tiers, and Tradify offers optional quote sections on Pro.
  • You want a deposit before work starts. Checker takes a percentage or fixed amount when the customer accepts. Powered Now, Joblogic (through Stripe) and ServiceM8 (through ServiceM8 Pay) do the same.
  • You bill big jobs in stages. Tradify Pro, ServiceM8 from Starter, Fergus, Powered Now and Checker all describe staged or part payments.
  • You want the certificate, quote and invoice on one record. Checker and Tradify Pro. Powered Now lists certificates on Professional.

What does Tradify do for quotes and invoices, and which plan holds it?

Tradify logoTradify

Quotes carry optional sections, accept online from the email link, and take a dated signature on site. An accepted quote converts to a job, or to an invoice with one button. Invoices can be progress invoices built from a quote as a percentage, a fixed amount or a line, with automatic text and email chasers and a Stripe pay button. Xero, Sage and QuickBooks sync is on every plan.

On the pricing page, quote options and online acceptance, progress invoicing and quote and invoice reminders all sit on Pro at £37 a user a month, not on Lite at £34. Its quoting and invoicing pages do not mention VAT, CIS or reverse charge.

A homeowner points at a tablet held by a tradesperson on a doorstep, the screen angled away from the camera
The moment a customer says yes is the one a quoting tool has to handle.

What does each alternative do for quotes and invoices?

Powered Now logoPowered Now

Quotes carry your logo, per-job-type templates and catalogue prices, with VAT calculated. Customers accept and pay in a customer portal, which the homepage lists under Premium. Deposits are a fixed amount or percentage taken from a quote, and quotes split into part invoices. Invoices carry a Pay Now button (card through SumUp) and automatic reminders. Its quoting page does not mention quote options or automated quote follow-ups. Xero and QuickBooks sync starts on Professional.

ServiceM8 logoServiceM8

Quote options, online acceptance, electronic signature and automated quote follow-ups are on every plan, as are automated payment follow-ups and card or Apple Pay payment. Progress invoicing starts on Starter, and deposits at acceptance run through ServiceM8 Pay. Its help centre lists both as add-ons while the pricing table lists them by plan, so confirm what your plan includes. Xero sync is on every plan.

Fergus logoFergus

Quotes show multiple pricing tiers, keep every version and track pending, viewed and accepted status, and customers approve from the email link. Invoices support staggered billing, Fergus Pay by card link or QR code, and automatic SMS and email overdue reminders, with Xero and QuickBooks sync. The pages we read do not mention deposits.

Joblogic logoJoblogic

Quotes split into sections the customer approves or rejects, and customers accept and pay a deposit (none, partial or full) through Stripe. Approved quotes convert to live jobs. The invoicing page covers an automated invoicing schedule, batch invoices, automated payment reminders and sync to Xero, Sage and QuickBooks. It does not mention progress invoices or payment links. Its FAQ says most customers commit to 24 or 36 months.

How do the six compare on quotes and invoices?

Tradify holds options, progress invoices and reminders in one tier, and ServiceM8 lists quote options on every plan. Not stated means the pages listed in the sources said nothing on the point on 19 October 2026.

ToolQuote options and acceptanceDepositStaged invoicesChasersPrice line
Tradify logoTradifyOptional sections; online and on-site acceptance (Pro)Through a progress invoice (Pro)Percentage, fixed or line (Pro)Text and email on quotes and invoices (Pro)£34, £37, £44 per user a month; VAT not stated
Checker logoCheckerOne-click Accept; no multi-option quotes on our quotes pagePercentage or fixed amount at acceptanceStaged payments and part-paid trackingQuote and invoice chasersLITE £10.99, PRO £19.99, PRO+ £25.99 plus £10.99 a sub-user, plus VAT
Powered Now logoPowered NowPortal acceptance (homepage lists the portal under Premium); options not statedFixed amount or percentagePart invoices from a quoteAutomatic payment reminders£28 for one user, £32 and £40 per user, excluding VAT
ServiceM8 logoServiceM8Several options and online acceptance, all plansThrough ServiceM8 PayProgress invoicing, Starter and upQuote and payment follow-ups, all plans£0 to £59 by job volume, excluding VAT
Fergus logoFergusMultiple pricing tiers; approval from the email linkNot statedStaggered invoicesSMS and email overdue remindersFrom £39 or £45; VAT not stated
Joblogic logoJoblogicSections approved or rejected; online approvalNone, partial or full through StripeInvoicing schedule; progress invoices not statedAutomated payment remindersFrom £49 per user, billed annually; VAT not stated

Quote options and acceptance: Optional sections; online and on-site acceptance (Pro)

Deposit: Through a progress invoice (Pro)

Staged invoices: Percentage, fixed or line (Pro)

Chasers: Text and email on quotes and invoices (Pro)

Price line: £34, £37, £44 per user a month; VAT not stated

Quote options and acceptance: One-click Accept; no multi-option quotes on our quotes page

Deposit: Percentage or fixed amount at acceptance

Staged invoices: Staged payments and part-paid tracking

Chasers: Quote and invoice chasers

Price line: LITE £10.99, PRO £19.99, PRO+ £25.99 plus £10.99 a sub-user, plus VAT

Quote options and acceptance: Portal acceptance (homepage lists the portal under Premium); options not stated

Deposit: Fixed amount or percentage

Staged invoices: Part invoices from a quote

Chasers: Automatic payment reminders

Price line: £28 for one user, £32 and £40 per user, excluding VAT

Quote options and acceptance: Several options and online acceptance, all plans

Deposit: Through ServiceM8 Pay

Staged invoices: Progress invoicing, Starter and up

Chasers: Quote and payment follow-ups, all plans

Price line: £0 to £59 by job volume, excluding VAT

Quote options and acceptance: Multiple pricing tiers; approval from the email link

Deposit: Not stated

Staged invoices: Staggered invoices

Chasers: SMS and email overdue reminders

Price line: From £39 or £45; VAT not stated

Quote options and acceptance: Sections approved or rejected; online approval

Deposit: None, partial or full through Stripe

Staged invoices: Invoicing schedule; progress invoices not stated

Chasers: Automated payment reminders

Price line: From £49 per user, billed annually; VAT not stated

Full price arithmetic for one to six people is in our sub-user pricing guide and our Checker and Tradify comparison.

Do these tools handle CIS and the domestic reverse charge?

A plumber, heating engineer or electrician doing building work for a VAT-registered contractor needs invoices that carry the right VAT treatment. HMRC says the domestic reverse charge “must be used for most supplies of building and construction services” reported within CIS.

Our quotes and invoices page covers CIS reverse charge, VAT and domestic reverse charge. Powered Now’s pages say invoices include VAT breakdowns and its FAQ says CIS is handled, and they do not mention the reverse charge. The Tradify, ServiceM8, Fergus and Joblogic pages checked on 19 October 2026 do not mention CIS or the reverse charge for your customer invoices. Ask any vendor to show a reverse charge invoice before you rely on it.

Where does Tradify still win?

  • One plan holds options, progress invoices and reminders. Tradify Pro lists quote options with online acceptance, progress invoicing with retentions and quote and invoice reminders together, with accounts sync on every plan.
  • Timesheets, costing and bill tracking. Pro lists all three. They are not on our features page.
  • Scale. Tradify reported 20,000 customers across the UK, New Zealand and Australia when the Access Group announced its agreement to acquire it on 2 October 2024. It holds 4.8 out of 5 from 614 Trustpilot reviews and 4.8 from 2,706 UK App Store ratings.
A trade business owner at a workshop desk with a laptop angled away from the camera and a mug, working through quotes
Quotes and invoices are an end-of-day job for most owners, so the steps matter.

Where does Checker fit into this?

Checker fits a small gas, heating or electrical team that quotes, takes a deposit, issues a certificate and invoices from one job record. The customer taps Accept, pays a percentage or fixed deposit then, and the balance rolls onto the final invoice. Convert to Invoice carries line items, VAT setup and terms across, and our invoices handle CIS, VAT and domestic reverse charge. Quote and invoice chasers run on their own, and invoice chasers stop when the invoice is paid. Our Xero sync, which moves invoices and payments both ways, is available on PRO and PRO+.

The limits are plain. Our quotes page shows no several-options quote, our staged billing is deposits and part-paid tracking rather than retentions, and timesheets and job costing are not on our features page. Our staff page lists an office-staff role as coming soon.

Checker is the 2025 rebrand of Gas Checker, which has run since 2012. The two UK App Store listings together hold 102 ratings averaging 4.2.

Send one real quote through to payment before you decide. Get Started Free

How do you choose, step by step?

  1. Write down your most common quote. Note whether it carries options, a deposit or staged payments.
  2. Find the plan that holds those features. Tradify, Powered Now and ServiceM8 gate features by plan, so read each pricing page.
  3. Run that job in each free trial. Tradify and Powered Now give 14 days, and we give 30. Use one real customer, quote and invoice.
  4. Price your own headcount. Per-user and per-account models diverge as a team grows.

Our real-job test sets out the job to run, and our switching guide covers what moves when you leave.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best Tradify alternative for quoting and invoicing?

It depends on the job. ServiceM8 lists several quote options on every plan. Powered Now, Joblogic and Checker take a deposit when a customer accepts. Fergus offers staggered invoices, and Checker keeps the certificate, quote and invoice on one job record.

Does Tradify take deposits?

Through progress invoices created from a quote, which can request an upfront deposit or scheduled payments. Its quoting page does not mention deposits, and the pricing page lists progress invoicing under Pro.

Which options let a customer accept a quote online?

ServiceM8 on every plan, Checker through its Accept button, Joblogic and Powered Now through a customer portal, and Fergus from an email link. Tradify does it from the email, on Pro.

Do these pricing pages show VAT?

ServiceM8 and Powered Now state that prices exclude VAT, and ours are plus 20% VAT. The Tradify, Fergus and Joblogic pricing pages state no VAT treatment (read 19 October 2026).

About Daniel Sedgwick

Daniel Sedgwick is the founder and managing director of Checker, and a former gas engineer. He writes practical guides for trade businesses comparing field workflows, paperwork and commercial admin.

Authoritative sources

  1. Tradify UK pricing
  2. Tradify UK quoting
  3. Tradify UK invoicing
  4. The Access Group: agreement to acquire Tradify
  5. Trustpilot: Tradify
  6. App Store UK: Tradify
  7. Powered Now home
  8. Powered Now pricing
  9. Powered Now quoting
  10. Powered Now deposits
  11. Powered Now invoicing
  12. ServiceM8 UK pricing
  13. ServiceM8 help: deposits and progress payments
  14. Fergus UK pricing
  15. Fergus quoting
  16. Fergus invoicing
  17. Joblogic quoting
  18. Joblogic invoicing
  19. Joblogic pricing
  20. GOV.UK: domestic reverse charge for building and construction services
  21. Checker pricing
  22. Checker quotes and invoices
  23. Checker staff management
  24. Checker features
  25. App Store UK: Checker
  26. App Store UK: Gas Checker

Recent Posts

Free Invoicing Apps or Trade Software? What a UK Tradesperson Gives Up With a Free Tool (2026)

Free invoicing apps are often enough, until every job needs a certificate as well. See four free tools’ limits, what they leave out and when a subscription pays back.

Read More

Are Automatic Service Reminders Marketing? What UK Trades Can Send Under PECR and UK GDPR (2026)

A text confirming Tuesday’s visit is a service message. Add an offer or a push to rebook and PECR can treat it as marketing. Here is what the ICO’s published rules let a UK trade send, and to whom.

Read More

Leaving Tradify: How to Reconcile Open Quotes, Unpaid Invoices and Payments at Cutover (2026)

Tradify’s invoice export leaves out payment dates, and cancelling ends your access to the account. Here is how to give every open quote, unpaid invoice and payment one clear home on cutover day.

Read More